thetillyvanilly

Awkward things.

The Other L Word

on February 19, 2013

I like you. Why is that the hardest thing in the world to say? Even harder than I love you, well, in my opinion anyway. Because at least with the ‘L word,’ you know them enough to decide how they’ll take it, and who knows, they might be invested enough to shrug it off and pretend that you were drunk or hormonal or something. With ‘I like you,’ you’re giving all the power away. You’re like, ‘Excuse me, Mr cute, smart, funny, non-insane, possibly soul-mate potential man, what’s your opinion of me?’ That is so utterly terrifying that it’s a wonder that we didn’t all die out millennia ago.

 Life should be like speed-dating, or at least what my idea of speed-dating is, since I’ve never been, due to my crippling fear of rejection and social situations in general. You should just be able to score every person that you meet, on a would date or wouldn’t date basis, then, if you both would, you’d go out, get to know each other, fall in love and live happily ever after. Wouldn’t that be great? There’d be none of this terror, none of this paranoia, because you’d be scoring people every day. Every person you meet is a potential date. The men/women/whatever of the world wouldn’t be lost perfect partners, it would all be definite. It would all be survivable.

I think my problem is Disney. I was brought up on a diet of fairy tales (that don’t exist) and wishes (that won’t come true,) and, not having ever owned a sense of logic or perspective, I keep dreaming. It doesn’t occur to me that I’m not a princess, and so I’m still looking for a prince that never comes. Then again, I would rather wait than settle. It turns out that I’m never going to be Cinderella or Snow White, but maybe I’m just looking in the wrong books. I’m sarcastic and silly and hell-bent on true love. I could always be Elizabeth Bennet. So what do you say Mr Darcy? I like you.

4 responses to “The Other L Word

  1. Atreyu Crimmins says:

    I like you. 🙂

  2. Don’t settle if it’s not the real deal – because the good stuff is so worth waiting for…I think we’ve all had to reevaluate our Disney princess beginnings, but true love is still in the cards.

Leave a Reply

