thetillyvanilly

Awkward things.

The Smiley, Cheery, Shiny Theory

on June 6, 2013

Sometimes I get sad, but then I stop being sad and be awesome instead. Happiness is a choice, a bloody hard choice, I’ll give you that, but it’s there all the time, ready and waiting for you to pick it up and say “I choose you Pikachu.” I’ve been thinking about this lately, about how moods are fickle, tricksy hobbitses, about how they thunder off like slippery snowballs sometimes, and about how the end of the world can happen Every. Single. Day. If you let it. One bitchy comment can send me spiraling into the gloom world and it’s so hard to climb back up for air, but it’s doable. NB: I am not talking about depression. Depression is a mood disorder that is not like simple sadness in any way. I am not advocating rainbows and butterflies to cure mental illnesses AT ALL. K? Alrighty then…

For something so super crappy, you’d think that misery wouldn’t be popular, but it is. Absolutely everyone is doing the grumpy cat right now. And why is that? Because it’s easy. Life is hard, people can be mean and the weather is unpredictable. This is like the superformula for sadness. But what not many people know is that there is a variable, and that variable is stubbornness. If your life sucks, all your friends hate you, you’ve gained two-hundred pounds and you’ve just lost your job because your boss is a Cacomorphobe, then you can get through it by sheer pig-headedness. You can, I’ve done it. I’m the sort of person that is no good at any kind of activity until you make it a competition, and life, my friends, is a competition.

Smile because it pisses people off. Smile because it makes your face prettier. Smile because you’ve just had your teeth whitened and you wanna get your money’s worth. It doesn’t matter. As long as you are smiling, you are winning at life and happiness is your prize. Brains are funny old things and it has been shown that if you smile, you can trick your mind into thinking that you’re happy; how cool is that? And here’s another secret: You deserve happiness. How do I know? I just do. Everyone deserves happiness. I have a theory that if Hitler had just cheered the eff up, nothing bad would have happened ever. Bear in mind that I’m not a historian or a scientist or any kind of Hitler expert, but that’s my theory and I’m sticking to it.

My favourite book in the whole world is The Last Lecture by Randy Pausch; I pimp it out to everyone and you are no exception, so go read it right now, or watch The Last Lecture on youtube. Basically, Randy was a super amazing guy that knew what a gift life is. He was dying of cancer and yet he found the time, the inclination and the awesome to teach the world about happiness and dreams. Even tumours couldn’t smack the smile off his face. That’s what I try to remember every time I’m having my dumb idea of a bad day. Everything is awesome if you stop and look at the best bits. When you’re frowning or crying or whacking walls and imagining they’re people, you’re missing rainbows and puppies and bookshops. Your favourite song is on the radio, the ice-cream man’s outside, that cute boy is giving you sidelong glances and YOU’RE MISSING IT! So stop and smile and be happy because you deserve it, and if you can, you should.

Leave a Reply

