thetillyvanilly

Awkward things.

To-do List Done

on December 29, 2013

Image

 

I’ve spent a lot of my life knowing that one day I will do something freaking awesome. I was always going to be an author, the reincarnation of Enid Blyton specifically. That was a certainty, no questions asked, especially annoying questions like ‘how?’ and ‘when?’. It would happen when it was supposed to happen. Of course, that led to me getting older and not achieving anything. I was jealous of everyone, Lena Dunham specifically, for creating and achieving. ‘What have they got that I haven’t got?’ I’d ask myself every time I was feeling particularly shitty. Uh, determination? Tenacity perhaps?

It turns out, if you want magic to happen, you’ve got to plunge your hands into the cauldron and stir. No wands around here, we do things properly; well, we do now anyway, because this year I worked, and I worked bloody hard. At the end of 2012, I wrote a list, which I am including for your viewing pleasure…

 

Image

Ignore the unticked things, they are dead to me now. Ok, we’ll talk about the unticked things. Fine. I am not Wonder Woman. I am Rogue, and Rogue’s got a life and issues and really good hair. Ok, everything but the hair. Life happened this year. Of course I started out meaning to accomplish everything, but it didn’t happen. My mum got ill, I got sad and half the year disappeared like when you put candy floss on a dog’s tongue and they FREAK. OUT. I’m not making excuses, but I am excusing myself from feeling bad about it.

In other news, check out all my ticked things. Oh yeah. Notice the greatest one of all. Let’s take a closer look, shall we?

Image

That’s become an official writer for HelloGiggles.com. Note the tick, meaning that I did it. I achieved that. That is a thing that I achieved. In real life. Me. Seriously, I am still not over being proud of that. If nothing else on this list was ticked, I’d still be smiling. I wouldn’t be posting the list on the internet, but I’d be happy.

So I achieved a lot of things this year. Yes, I know there are hardly any fun goals and only two ticked fun goals; I’ve already been berated for that. Achieving is fun. It is. Anyway… Rather than sit back and be all smug, I’m gonna keep going. I’ve built up a flow, and this is a marathon, as people are fond of saying. As a super-non-sporty person, this means little to me, apart from that I get a foil coat and a Mars bar when I’m done, so it’s all good.

Next year, stuff is HAPPENING. Note the emphasis. That emphasis roughly translates as ‘I’m doing special, secret, important, exciting stuff, but I can’t tell you because eek!’ Yeah, I can tell that you’re enthralled. Basically, big things are about to go down and I’m so grateful and so terrified, and I might be sick, but in a good way.

The point of this all is that if you’re reading this, I want to say thank you. Thank you for muddling your way through my ramblings because you care or think I’m fun to stalk. Thank you for giving me a kick up the arse to keep going, because without eyes on my writing and clicks on the links, I’d have a lot less ticks on the list. So thank you a zillion times, my wonderful reader, you are epic. And if I wake up tomorrow with a plummy voice and the urge to moralise fairy folk, I will know it’s because of you.

 

4 responses to “To-do List Done

  1. Look at all those check marks. Congratulations! Every accomplishment is worth celebrating.

  2. Sam says:

    Wow! Congratulations on HG! 😀 You’re totally right. The only way things happen is if you go for them. It seems intuitive but, it’s a lot easier to just wish.

    • Yay! Thank you!
      Yeah, I spent so much time wishing and dreaming. If you’re dreaming, it’s like you have it already, but that makes coming back to earth kinda bumpy.
      The only way to get to the top is to climb!
      T xxx

Leave a Reply

